When Did Rightful Liberty Become Giving Up Liberty?

Too much stuff being talked about “racism” lately on the liberty blogs. The best response I’ve ever seen on any blog regarding being called a racist was from Fred Reed on the fredoneverything blog site.  If you aren’t a regular reader, I recommend it.

Here is his blog on being called a racist:

http://fredoneverything.net/LaudableRacism.shtml

He correctly points out that the real response to being called a racist is, “so-what”.

I love liberty. For me though, liberty doesn’t mean that everyone has to be like me, agree with me, or even love me.  I don’t even agree with myself sometimes.  And I surely don’t love myself all the time.

Those who despise liberty want everyone to think the same, and it’s always them that get to define what “the same” is.

We on the liberty side are supposed to embrace true diversity of thought. When we decide that some folks shouldn’t be allowed to think differently than we do, how are we any different than those that despise liberty?

There is a huge difference between embracing ideas and defending ideas. Quite frankly, up until the point that you transition your thoughts into actions that actually hurt me, I don’t care what you believe.  That is what liberty is supposed to be about.

Liberty doesn’t include the idea that you won’t hurt my feelings. Liberty doesn’t include the idea that you won’t vote for someone that I think is evil.  Liberty doesn’t include the idea that you must agree with whoever is the leader of the day.

Those who openly call for violence against and death of Muslims as a group, or folks who chose to work for the government or law enforcement are not friends of liberty. Calling other people enemies of liberty while touting threatening messages to groups of people is stupid at best and anti-liberty at worst.

Stalin, Pol-Pot, Mao, and many others had the place for folks that want blind followers.

4 thoughts on “When Did Rightful Liberty Become Giving Up Liberty?

  1. I have certainly been down that rabbit hole with the sharks of the ‘so-called’ III%. (With Carolyn, at least on his little blog site, in the lead) The feeding frenzy was pretty astounding. I guess they thought I was their chum.

    Did it accomplish what they wanted? Hardly. It did divorce me from ever wanting anything to do with their little group. Which is good.

    Not that we will ever see them on the green. 🙂

    Like

  2. Bring back the Pollack jokes. The cuts on wops, dykes, coons, wetbacks, and whitey. Everything goes…except when one trods upon the true rights of another. T. Jefferson said it best,

    “Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add ‘within the limits of the law’ because law is often but the tyrant’s will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual.”

    It is left to the individual what is and is not permissible within polite society. If another cares not what one says it is that either one keeps the wrong company. Never is the case in this regard that a group of men shall insist to govern the conversation of the one.

    If I were of that grand generation which greatly assisted in the founding of this nation I too should be found rolling in my grave. What evil hand has wrought upon this land and the languish of the citizenry has ably abided therein.

    Like

Leave a comment